Therapy Areas: Infectious Diseases
Valo Therapeutics adds four new members to Scientific Advisory Board
3 August 2022 -

Valo Therapeutics Oy (ValoTx), a Finland-based company that develops novel, adaptable immunotherapy platforms for cancer and infectious diseases, announced on Tuesday that it has added Professor Paolo A Ascierto, Dr Jeffery Bockman, Professor Malcolm K Brenner, and Professor Kevin Harrington to its Scientific Advisory Board (SAB).

Presently, Professor Paolo A Ascierto serves as director of the Department of Melanoma, Cancer Immunotherapy and Development Therapeutics at the National Cancer Institute 'Pascale' in Naples, Italy. He also serves as editorial board member, editor and scientific reviewer for leading medical journals and as a member of the steering committee of the Society of Melanoma Research (SMR). He is part of the board of directors for the Society of ImmunoTherapy of Cancer (SITC) and of the Cancer Development Drug Forum (CDDF), and is president of the Fondazione Melanoma Onlus, and the Campania Society of ImmunoTherapy of Cancer (SCITO).

Dr Bockman serves as the executive vice president, head of Oncology at Lumanity BioConsulting, and was an assistant research professor at The George Washington University School of Medicine.

Professor Brenner serves as the founding director, Centre for Cell and Gene Therapy, Baylor College of Medicine (BCM), Houston Methodist Hospital and Texas Children's Hospital. He held the position of editor-in-chief of Molecular Therapy and as former president of the American Society for Gene and Cell Therapy and of the International Society for Cell Therapy. He has been a part of foundation of various companies, such as Allovir, Marker Therapeutics, and Tessa Therapeutics.

Professor Harrington has served as a group leader at The Institute of Cancer Research (ICR), London and in an honorary consultant oncologist post at the Royal Marsden Hospital (RMH). He has held the position of the head of the Division of Radiotherapy and Imaging at the ICR, and director of the CRUK ICR/RMH RadNet Centre of Excellence.